TEXT | Curtis
PHOTOS | Swanberg

What a way to start a new season. The 2017 Monster Energy Supercross Series kicked off its seventeen-round run around North America with an incredible night of racing at Angels Stadium of Anaheim. A tradition in the two-wheeled racing world, it’s a first glimpse of action after a cold winter and little excitement. The months of anticipation were put to an end on the early January night in Southern California and by the time the checkered flag flew, we were left with confirmation on some things and uncertainty on others. This is going to be a great year…

250 Heat One

Martin Davalos lead heat one of the 250SX class from start to finish aboard his Rockstar Energy Racing Husqvarna. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawsaki’s Austin Forkner followed Davalos’s great start and the rookie quickly settled into second place. Aaron Plessinger and Justin Hill battled for third, but Justin Hill would keep the position. AutoTrader/Monster Energy/Toyota/JGRMX/Suzuki’s Phil Nicoletti grabbed the final transfer position after a mistake by Noah McConahy late in the race.
Transfer to Main Event – Davalos, Forkner, Hill, Plessinger, Mellross, Chisholm, Bowers, Lilly, Nicoletti
Total Race Time – 6:22.442 minutes, 6 laps
Margin of Victory – 0.848 seconds
Fastest Lap Time – Justin Hill, 1:03.378

250 Heat Two

Jeremy Martin grabbed the early lead aboard his GEICO Honda. Shane McElrath stayed close Martin for the full duration of the race and on the final lap the Troy Lee Designs/ GoPro/Red Bull/KTM rider executed a pass for the lead that Martin had no time to react to. Cole Martinez took the final transfer position to the main after battling all race. Opening lap crashes hindered Josh Hansen and Jimmy Decotis from reaching transfer positions.
Transfer to Main Event – McElrath, Martin, Oldenburg, Reardon, Taft, Catanzaro, Starling, Auberson, Martinez
Total Race Time – 6:22.961 minutes, 6 laps
Margin of Victory – 2.472 seconds
Fastest Lap Time – Shane McElrath, 1:03.528

250 LCQ

Chase Marquier took the early lead but was passed by Decotis midway through the short sprint. Jon Ames would settle in third and transferred to the main event in his pro debut. Noah McConahy crashed while battling for a transfer position.
Transfer to Main Event – Decotis, Marquier, Ames, Commans
Total Race Time – 4:25.266 minutes, 4 laps
Margin of Victory – 2.692 seconds
Fastest Lap Time – Jimmy Decotis, 1:05.074

250 Main Event

Troy Lee Designs/ GoPro/Red Bull/KTM’s Shane McElrath lead the race from start to finish, as he rushed through the first turn at the head of the field and was never truly challenged for the spot for the entire duration of the race. Martin Davalos snagged second place in the early moments of the moto, but was eventually caught and passed by Aaron Plessinger as Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha rider clocked a series of quick laps and even closed in on race leader McElrath. Austin Forkner struggled with a mid-pack start and front-flip in the whoops, yet managed to run back through the field to claim an eighth place finish in his pro debut. GEICO Honda’s Jeremy Martin andYamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Dan Reardon had one of the better battles of the main event for sixth place, and Martin outlasted the Australian for the spot.
Total Race Time – 16:11.289 minutes, 15 laps
Margin of Victory – 2.299 seconds
Fastest Lap Time – Aaron Plessinger, 1:03.588

250 Main Event Results


250 Championship Point Standings | Round One of Nine